Back to basics

Oh well, seems blogging every day is not really my thing. Lately I’ve been pondering how I could keep this blog alive without sacrificing too much time – I will be working fulltime again in only ten days, so the evenings will be filled with family time and probably a little preparation work too.

There is something else that was occupying my mind too. The reason I had a hard time coming up with new content, feeling stressed about what I should write, was because I gave in to the one thing that always kills my mojo in the long term: writing for a public rather than myself.

back to basics

 

Why is it that in the end there’s always that tiny but powerful urge to shine? Is it vanity? Pride? What does it matter in the end? To be applauded by people you don’t even know? And what for? For something you wrote to please them? Or at least, something you posted because you hoped it would have that enormous amount of page views?

Not that it was working anyway – and of course I know blogging only works if it’s about connection. Finding a way to connect yourself with readers. But I once started blogging for me. An online journal. A little place on the web to vent. I don’t know when that changed. Because when asked about blogging goals, I still mention ‘to connect’ first.

I recently wrote about redefining simple. Maybe I should do the same when it comes to blogging. Going back to the roots, putting myself out there. Maybe it will be more self centered. But on the other hand: it will be more me. And my search for what I truly find important and how I can value that.

Christmas is a good start. I wish you all the best for this beautiful tradition of how greatness can be found in humble things . The miracle of the every day.

Wishing you the best…

 

Author: Elvira

Woman, wife, mother. Trying to slow down and take the time to listen.

2 thoughts on “Back to basics”

  1. I totally agree with you. I think our intentions shine even in our writings! People know when a smile is a genuine smile, a sad smile… connecting with people is definitely important, however, sometimes it is good to be selfish and vent out our true feelings rather than trying to please others. 🙂
    Merry Christmas 🙂

Leave a Reply

