How it began…

Christina B from the lovely blog Searching for Ironman nominated me for a Liebster Award (damn you “lobster “autocorrect!). When I discovered the questions, I had so many ideas that I decided to turn them into separate posts instead.

  • How did you get into blogging or photography?
  • Where would you most like to travel to and why?
  • What is your favorite book?
  • When you travel to a place you have never been before, what is the first thing you like to do?
  • How do you get ideas for your blogs or photo shoots?
  • How many countries have you been to?
  • What aspect of blogging do you love the most?
  • Where is you next travel destination to?
  • What is your favorite downtime activity?
  • What is/are your goal(s) in life?

 

begin blogging

 

I’ve always felt a writer, but very soon I realized fiction was not my thing. Reflections, journaling and memories… that’s where my heart lies. I filled diary upon diary (correction: I always filled the first few pages and then fell for yet another beautiful notebook). When I finally had my own computer with permanent internet access, I set my first steps in this blogging world. On LiveJournal first, later on Blogger. I often switched between blogging in my mother tongue and blogging in English. Obviously the English has stuck – mostly because I like the wide range of people who might stumble upon what I write. It’s the language I used from the start here on WordPress.

 

Photography is a whole other thing. When my husband and I went on our first big trip, I only had a simple compact camera. As we were in the middle of National Geographic-like scenes, I was very disappointed that I could not take photographs that were as stunning as the surroundings. I blamed it on the camera, which, of course, is only partially correct. For our honeymoon, I did buy a decent DSLR – and still the photos weren’t very impressive (some were, luckily). I loved the camera though, and when my son was born, there was my reason to practice! I think 2013 is the year in which all the photos I took have my boy for subject…

 

I’m still learning. To blog. To feel my camera. I have no professional ambitions with this, but I like to be good at something. I would want to be good at this. This is my playground. And that’s the reason I blog anonymously. Because I want to keep it that way.

 

liebster-award-2

Author: Elvira

Woman, wife, mother. Trying to slow down and take the time to listen.

1 thought on “How it began…”

Leave a Reply

