Reflections on Sunday

  • I’m not a whiner and I know it will probably rain thousands of days for the next few years, but for now, I’ve had it with rain. Little Boy is completely going nuts inside and I can’t get him to play by himself for longer than thirty minutes. Even in my company, he doesn’t care. He wants to watch his favorite television show, or empty every possible cupboard or just go outside and play in the sandpit (which will probably be a mud pit by now). I would even let him, if it would only stop raining!

 

  • Being a consistent blogger seems to remain an issue. I have enough ideas for posts by now, I should just start writing and plan some things ahead. Tonight I don’t have to cook (yay!), so I could totally do that – but I’ve left my bin with clothes to iron alone for too long.

 

  • Normally I don’t do ironing. Really. I buy clothes that I can wear straight away after washing, and my husband’s shirts are his problem. Luckily he has a grandmother who really adores ironing, so most of our stuff is going there (and since she finds it easier to iron things when she washed them herself, she does most of are laundry too). Except for LB’s clothes, and they are still too small to need ironing. However… I like to wash his sheets too and for some reason I feel like I need to iron them (don’t ask me why…) and besides, I really need to learn it because, well, I’m just bad at it. So better start with small things (and not letting the bin become a mountain).

 

  • On the other hand: I vacuumed twice this week. With LB being awake (and helping and making a mess behind my back)! The vacuum cleaner broke though. I hope it’s just because it was too full and needs to be emptied (my husband does that and probably I could too, but I just don’t feel like it). If not… well, we’ll die in dog hair. Oh and I mopped the floors too! Not that you could see any evidence of it, even a few minutes after it happened, but I did!

 

  • I need to watch movies entirely, even if only to report about it. Most of the times, I quit halfway and go to bed. Read a little. Still the same book, by the way. I have some other library books laying around and one of my friends gifted me Train Dreams. Can’t wait.

 

  • I have read a lot of blogs and blog posts lately, a lot on Facebook too, but I really wanted to share this one, by Renee at Sapling House. Taking beautiful photographs (and sharing them) can sometimes take is away from what/who we’re having in front of our lenses. Her daughter reminded her beautifully to remember to actually spend time together instead of photographing their time together. It’s something I might be guilty of too (only LB is too young to tell me)…

 

reflectionsonsundayjuly13

 

Author: Elvira

Woman, wife, mother. Trying to slow down and take the time to listen.

4 thoughts on “Reflections on Sunday”

  1. Household chores are always a pain bug once you actually get them sorted, you feel so accomplished! I mean it’s ridiculous how great I feel just knowing the laundry hamper is empty for once :p
    Good luck with your pile!

  2. Thank you so much Elvira for your super lovely words! You are too kind 🙂

    And I know what you mean about being a consistent blogger – I have so many ideas but as soon as I’m back at work it’s terribly difficult to keep momentum.

    I look at it merely as a creative outlet and that seems to help!

    1. I try to be more relaxed about it and not stress when I don’t get a blog post up. I’ll try to work offline in a few weeks, as I’ll be having no internet, but I need to write things down if I ever want to get them published on the blog. Often it’s the photographs that make it difficult… (oh, and I’m still so much in love with yours and the consistent filter that works just great with your site!)

Leave a Reply

