Reflections on Sunday

  • Last week we had a hail storm. Honestly, I’ve never witnessed hail that size. There was a lot of damage, especially for farmers with greenhouses. For us, we are the proud owners of a riddled gutter, a colander as a roof for our little backyard shed and my car has cellulite. Oh well, the first two will be repaired soon, the insurance service will come tomorrow. And my (new) car, I don’t mind. I don’t really care about how my car looks, it has to bring me safely from point A to point B.

 

  • It was also my birthday last week. I’m spoiled with gifts, my husband bought me the long wanted pasta machine and thought of adding a drying rack too, my parents gave me good quality knives and my sister bough me a pair of pants of my favorite brand. There are also some book cheques waiting for me with my family-in-law, and I’m already dreaming of what I’ll do with them. There are some cook books on my list, a book on gardening, or I might use them as a sort of magazine subscription… I’m a happy gal!

 

  • I’ve given my last lessons at school, and now it’s exam time. A completely different rhythm, which I like, especially at the end of the year. Correction work isn’t coming in until Wednesday, so I have still a few ’empty’ days left. I can’t believe summer is already peeking around the corner!

 

  • Little Boy is talking and talking and talking. Most of the time I don’t have a clue of what he says, but he uses ‘yes’ and ‘no’ really well and adds one or two words every week. He loves cars, animals, playing in the sand pit and running around. And eating. I’m trying to drop the morning bottle and encourage him to sip some real milk from an open cup (I should have been more consistent with using open cups, there are still a lot of messes now, while he has done it better before) and he likes to try everything. He eats quite well with a spoon or a fork now and loves fruits and veggies. For fruit, mainly the classics (apple, pear and banana, sometimes melon), but I can offer him anything in a puree and yesterday he came back for red currants. They are growing abundantly in our garden and I don’t really like them, but I encouraged him to try and to pick some of his own. I don’t think he actually likes the taste, but he loved to pick up the little berries, first from my hands, then from the bush. He ate some, he spit some out, but I love how he tries everything. I hope I can learn him to appreciate raw vegetables too, it would make for some extra snack options!

 

  • My blog week off made me realize that while I love blogging, and I don’t mind doing it every day, it is necessary for me to not dive in completely like I was doing before. I’ll let it take its natural course, investing the time/energy I can afford. I suddenly experienced a huge increase in traffic, and discovered the sweet Rhonda of Down to earth had linked to one of my posts. It was a bit of a pity that I just decided to take a little time off, but it felt good to stick to the plan and I still loved how my posts got some extra views. But what I still love the most, is reading other blog posts. I may not have been the best commenter lately, but two bloggers already mentioned before, posted something I really like:

 

  • Six figures under, or actually her husband, posted on sunk costs, and I found it very interesting to read. For restaurant visits, I already figured out that I didn’t mind leaving something on my plate if I had enough, even if I paid good money for it, but I didn’t translate the concept to other domains. It’s good to read, cause it takes some of really unnecessary guilt problems away concerning money.

 

  • And Helene at French Foodie Baby is back, and I love love love it! She posted one of her menus again and I just know that’s how I want us to eat. So I’m making a conscious effort to move in that direction. A lot of it is already the way we do it, but with a few tweaks, I can have it the way I really want. The one thing that’s a struggle, is the eating together. It just is not possible most of the times, as my husband works rather late. I give Little Boy his breakfast to enjoy with his friends at daycare, at least he’s not eating alone then. If I manage to drop the milk bottle in the mornings, maybe he and I can eat together in the morning. We’ll see about that, I’m confident we’ll work something out.

 

 

buildingtowers

 

 

 

 

Author: Elvira

Woman, wife, mother. Trying to slow down and take the time to listen.

1 thought on “Reflections on Sunday”

  1. That is some crazy hail to do that kind of damage. Yikes! Happy birthday! I’m glad you were spoiled! Thanks for including my.. err my husband’s post.

Leave a Reply

