This week in my kitchen

Inspired by beauty that moves, encouraged to make this kitchen a warm and welcoming one, where there’s always something to enjoy. Here is what has been going on this week…

 

chopping vegs

 

mince

 

soup ingredients

 

 

soup portions freezer

:: chopping, always chopping. I think this one was for pasta sauce, but I’m not even sure anymore.

:: I tried a new butcher this week and bought meat for the whole week to come. Dividing the mince into smaller portions, to freeze. I hope it’s less salty than the mince (and therefore all the burgers and stuff) of the butcher in the street.

:: new veggie box arrived, so I gathered all the leftover vegs that were laying around in my fridge

:: and turned them into a delicious soup. I froze some smaller portions for the Little Boy when he comes home from daycare. Sometimes it just works out perfectly!

 

 

Want to see more kitchens? Come and join!

Author: Elvira

Woman, wife, mother. Trying to slow down and take the time to listen.

10 thoughts on “This week in my kitchen”

    1. while that exists, this one isn’t. As far as I can see there is one ‘main’ organic farm where they get many of their products, and then add produce from other organic farms in Belgium. When not possible from Belgium, they focus on our neighbors (the Netherlands, France). And sometimes, for exotic fruits for example, there is no other possibility to let them come from far away, but always organic. What I like about this particular system, is that it isn’t really a subscription. You just decide each week if you’re going to take a box the next week or not. And online you can already see what will be in it and decide if you want it or not.

  1. I miss having a veg box delivered. I love the surprise of not knowing exactly what you’ll receive. We are moving in a few months and I’ve decided to see if any of the local farms do them. I can’t wait. You have inspired me to have another go.
    deb

    1. While the surprise factor is certainly a nice thing, I like to know what’s in it and already thinking of possible ways to use it (and shop accordingly). So I’m glad I have the option of looking online what will be in it. I hope you find a box to your liking, the more local, the better!

    1. Thanks, Karen. It was. There was some broccoli in it, with stem, half a zucchini, a few carrots and a red oignon. Apparently a good combo!

  2. Vegetable soups are a great way to eat vegetables and even my little boy eats them gladly, but if I try to give him vegetable like side dish… nothing! He eats only peas, tomatoes and potatoes.

    1. At least he’s eating soup then. For the moment, I’m blessed with my vegetable-loving Little Boy. He eats more vegs than his dad. The only thing he doesn’t like, is raw. But we’re going to work on that this summer. This morning I discovered that I just have to let him give it a got – he never ate chunks of pineapple before, so he spit them out at first, but kept asking to try. After four tries, he ate them happily. I’m thankful for this, but also heard things can change quite quickly when they get older…

Leave a Reply

