I will follow you

Disclaimer: the author of this post cannot be held responsible for making you hum this song for the next few months.

I’m spending a lot of time reading about blogging lately. Tips and tricks, social media, planning… I’m eager to discover it all. And I’m an avid reader of interesting blog posts. A blog that has a few of them on it, can count on my more or less eternal love. I love commenting on them. I love interaction, especially with great authors that I look up to. And asking myself the question how I can I make my blog visit-worthy, I thought I might start with my own experience as a blog reader. What attracts me in other blogs? When I read a post, what makes me want to discover the whole blog?

followyourblog

 

1. My instinct is to stay longer on blogs that have a certain lay-out. I like a lot of white space, clean and simple lines and big pictures. I love simple headers and a sidebar that’s not completely stuffed with badges of link-parties. Certain fonts have a very specific effect on me and make me want to stay longer.

 

2014-05-16 09.09.26 pm
I like this one: clean, simple, white, yet warm and authentic and with beautiful slightly softened pictures
2014-05-16 10.04.55 pm
I like this one too: calm colors, clear lay-out and lovely, bright pictures

 

 

2. I love when a blogger mentions other blogs in his/her posts, and adds links. If I like certain blogs, chances are huge that I’m going to check out the blogs they mention. But I appreciate it a lot if those links open in a new tab, so I can have a look at them after I’m finished reading the post.

 

3. I love writers who master the art of humor. If your style is slightly ironic and if you have some sense of self-depreciation, you’ve probably had me at hello. I will be at your feet forever ’cause you make my day and I want you in my mailbox. Ha!

 

4. I always try to give meaningful comments on blog posts that spoke to me in some way. Sometimes it is impossible to comment though, because you have to sign up to a certain system (like Disqus, which I for very unspecific reasons don’t like), or have to be member of a certain blogging platform (on some blogs you can’t comment without a google-account. While I have one, it’s not link to my blog account anymore, for very specific reasons this time). I think it’s very nice of you to reply on a comment, but I’ll love you even more if you check my blog and write a comment on a blog post that you like. It doesn’t even have to be the most recent one, just one you like. Oh and I completely understand the anti-spam procedure, but lately those encoded letter thingies are totally going crazy. Unless it’s numbers, I can’t read them. And I’m no robot. By the way: I prefer you to moderate comments before publishing them rather than having to go through word verification.

 

5. I love good writing. And while I make a lot of them myself, as English is not my mother tongue at all, I hate spelling mistakes. I’m very sensitive to them in my own language, but even in English they can grab my attention right away, and not in a good way. Guess it’s my dark and secret grammar-nazi side. Beautifully written and well composed sentences make me smile. If you have lots and lots of them on your blog, you’ll be my friend. And I will follow you.

 

 

(you didn’t actually think I would let you get that song out of your head, did you?)

 

 

Author: Elvira

Woman, wife, mother. Trying to slow down and take the time to listen.

5 thoughts on “I will follow you”

  1. Hey! Thank you SO much for your sweet comment !
    I don’t want to seem like the girl who’s promoting herself or anything, but I just wanted to let you know that there’s a 30%OFF discount in my etsy shop for the next two days, you know in case you want to get that cute Blog Planner or anything else 😉 Have a great day !!! Bises de France, Iris
    https://www.etsy.com/shop/TheCMarriedLife

  2. I pretty much agree with all of these. I hate when I really want to leave a comment but have to jump through hoops to do it. I also like when a blog is clean, in factI just changed my theme to be once that is a lot simpler with a lot of white space. Cheers!

  3. I found myself agreeing with everything you wrote, so apparently those are the kind of blogs I like to read too – like yours. Thanks so much for the song now stuck in my head….

Leave a Reply

