Reflections on Sunday

  • It has been a heavy ride this week. School was consuming much of my energy and on Tuesday I was home with a heavy migraine attack. It was weird, ’cause this time it wasn’t the light that bothered me, but the slightest noise. Never had that before. Anyway it passed quite quickly and I’m maybe a bit ashamed to admit that I have spent many hours surfing the web, looking for blogs and writers I would like to follow. I’m really enjoying it, but I’m shocked how much time it consumes. Luckily, it’s something I do just for myself. It’s me-time!

 

  • On the NaBloPoMo list for May, I discovered Pattie’s blog. I love her style, her honest way of writing and there’s much I can relate to.

 

  • Also on the Blogher site, there was an article by Susan Maccarelli that caught my eye. When I went to her blog, I was sold. She has tons of humor and her posts really make my day!

 

  • Wednesday I went to a musical with my family. My youngest brother asks for musical tickets every birthday, and most of the times it’s an outing with my brother and all the girls of the family. We love it! This time it was a big show, very impressive. Beautiful decors with many moving elements and even the platform where we were on moved through the show. Lighting was spectacular. And still it was intimate, as it should with a story about World War One. While personally, I think I’ve seen better stories/music, I was really moved. That war is so recent, so close. The region were I was born was crucial in it. And it’s way beyond any understanding. How must it have been for parents to lose their sons, for children to grow up without ever knowing their father, fathers who couldn’t make it to their birth and never got the chance to see them grow up? Losing everything and everyone? Never go to sleep without fear? And the idea that only one generation later history repeated… I’m very grateful that I didn’t have to go through the horrors of war and I’m very aware of the fact that for many, too many people in this world it’s their daily reality.

 

  • I deleted (or hid, cause apparently you can’t really delete) my personal Pinterest-account, and created one for my blog. While I’m happy playing with it, I already know Pinterest is one of those sites that are almost impossible to leave. So I try to use it with caution, just to protect myself 🙂

 

  • And today is Mother’s Day! It’s still surreal to me that I am actually a mother. To my husband too, cause he always forgets about these things. I’ll do a blog post about my mother later this week, but for now: happy Mother’s Day to all mothers! And all people who are at heart, but feel empty-handed on a day like this… a big hug. There’s nothing, really nothing that can ease your pain, but you’re not forgotten…

 

mothersday

 

Author: Elvira

Woman, wife, mother. Trying to slow down and take the time to listen.

1 thought on “Reflections on Sunday”

  1. I’m glad you’re feeling better – migraines are the worst. I’ve had ones so bad it hurt to blink, so I can relate to the misery they cause.

    Aww, thanks for the little shoutout! I’ve enjoyed discovering your blog, too. 🙂

    I’ll have to check out Susan’s blog. The name alone has already hooked me.

    That musical looks intense. Your comments remind me how, when I watch the news and see coverage of wars, I am reminded to be grateful for living where I do. Things are far from perfect in the States, but we can at least go about our daily lives with a modicum of safety, unlike so many others throughout the world.

    I need to remember to check on my Pinterest account. It’s been quite neglected of late.

    I hope you had a lovely Mother’s Day. Mwah! 🙂

Leave a Reply

